April/May 2008 -- How to Make the Most of Your Summer Employment

By now most of you are busy wrapping up the semester and preparing for exams (hah!).  If you have not yet secured SUMMER employment, do not worry!  There are positions coming through daily on Symplicity (click to check) and we have many resources and ideas to help you secure that meaningful employment.  If you do not yet have POST-GRADUATION employment, do not worry!  I will be working with each Class of 2008 grad from now until you find employment.  BUT, I and the staff at the Center for Career Development cannot help you unless you come into our office.   

 

** How to Make a CCD Appointment ** 

  1. Stop by the office any time and speak with Nicole, Diane or Ray.
  2. Call the main number (914-422-4217) and speak with Nicole, Diane or Ray.
  3. Email Nicole (nmoncayo@law.pace.edu) or Diane (dfennell@law.pace.edu). 

 

If you do not believe how nice and helpful we can be here at the CCD, ask your classmates!  We may give tough mock interviews and mark up resumes as heavily as your legal writing professors edit your memos (in fact, Elyse Moskowitz and I used to teach Crim. Law/L.A.W. here), but you will be prepared for the interview, have a shining resume and cover letter and will exude confidence and professionalism.

 

Speaking of professionalism, whether you are about to begin your first or your fourteenth job, the CCD is presenting several programs over the next few weeks designed to entertain and enlighten you about how to succeed in the workforce.  From wine tasting to ethics issues to how to be the most impressive and professional associate/intern/clerk your employer has ever seen, our upcoming three-part series on Professionalism and the New Lawyer offers something for everyone! see below 

 

New SBA-Career Development Liaison

 

Eric Deutch (2E) is our new SBA-CCD Liaison!  Eric has kindly agreed to act as the go-between for the SBA (and the whole student body) and the CCD relating to career development matters.  We have already had our first meeting and plan to meet on a regular basis in the future.  If you have ideas about the types of programs you would like the CCD to present or would like to give the CCD feedback (positive or otherwise) and do not feel comfortable contacting me directly, then you should contact Eric.

 

Update on Public Interest Law Center

 

The press release and announcement that Pace Law School is launching a Public Interest Law Center ("PILC") has spread to every corner of the country!  We have heard from over 75 highly qualified applicants for the Associate Director, Public Interest position.  The Search Committee -- comprising Prof. Vanessa Merton, Prof. Gretchen Flint, Prof. Andrew Lund, 2L Jessica Rhodes-Knowlton, Alum Anthony Wynne (NYS Grievance Committee and VP and founder of Westchester Coalition for the Homeless and Hungry, www.foodclothingshelter.org) and Asst. Dean Rachel Littman -- has been sifting through all those resumes and conducting first-round interviews.  We hope to complete the first rounds by April 25 and then will let the community know which candidates we plan to invite back so that the various constituencies at the law school will have a chance to meet them before we make a final hiring decision with Dean Simon.

 

Enjoy the Summer and Improve Yourself

 

We have listed below some resources and events that you might find useful and fun this summer (and please send us your favorites so we can include them for future Pace Law students!).  Aside from working hard and impressing your employer, summer is a great time to get discount tickets to shows, fine arts performances and baseball games, and take advantage of free concerts and outdoor gardens during later hours at many of the NYC museums.  Dance under the stars at Lincoln Center, see an outdoor free movie at one of the New York City or Westchester Parks, attend local Bar Association events, write an article, bike along the Bronx River Parkway and network with other professionals at every opportunity!  Summer is also a great time to volunteer and engage in pro bono activities.  See below for some resources and ideas. 

 

Have fun and keep us posted.  We will be hosting social events in DC and NYC this summer, so keep a look out for email invitations.  Most importantly, work hard and do the Law School proud!  We are 100% behind you.

 

-- Dean Littman and the Center for Career Development 

Return to top

  

Upcoming Events on Professionalism and the New Lawyer

Etiquette in the Social Setting
Thursday, April 10
, 6-7:30pm, Tudor Room
CCD-SBA Wine Tasting Event
Please RSVP to SBA President, Karen Berggren at karen.berggren@gmail.com  
Learn how to select, discuss and sip wine like a pro!


Professionalism in the Workplace
Monday, April 14
, 1-2pm, C-02
Success in your Summer Position
Learn how to impress your employer, stand out amongst your peers and get the most out of
your summer position.

 

Ethics and the New Lawyer
Monday, April 21
, 1-2pm, C-02
Ethics and the New Lawyer 
Learn from Prof. Gary Munneke and Dean Littman the pitfalls and warning signs to help you
avoid falling into common ethical traps.

 

 

SUMMER EVENTS AND RESOURCES 
Return to top


NEW YORK CITY


General Resources
Craigslist -- http://newyork.craigslist.org
Village Voice – http://www.villagevoice.com
Time Out New York -- http://www.timeout.com/newyork/
The New Yorker – http://www.newyorker.com/
NY1 News –  http://www.ny1.com/ny1/index.jsp
Zagat Guides – www.zagat.com

nyc m
useums
The Metropolitan Museum of Art (great roof sculpture garden; also see The Cloisters)
 – www.metmuseum.org
The Museum of Modern Art (great outdoor sculpture garden) – www.moma.org
New Museum (fabulous new building on the Bowery) -- http://www.newmuseum.org/
American Folk Art Museum -- http://www.folkartmuseum.org
Museum of Arts & Design – http://www.madmuseum.org/
Neue Gallerie for German and Austrian Art – http://www.neuegalerie.org/
Whitney Museum of Art – http://www.whitney.org
Rubin Museum of [Himalayan] Art –  http://www.rmanyc.org
Asia Society – http://asiasociety.org/visit/newyork.html
The Frick – http://www.frick.org 
The Morgan Library & Museum – http://www.morganlibrary.org 

Music & Theater
TKTS Discount Theater Ticket Booths -- http://www.tdf.org/TDF_ServicePage.aspx?id=56
Cherry Lane Theater – http://www.cherrylanetheatre.org
Atlantic Theater Company (founded by David Mamet & William H. Macy) -- http://www.atlantictheater.org
Lincoln Center – http://www.lincolncenter.org
Carnegie Hall –   http://www.carnegiehall.org/SiteCode/Intro.aspx
Smalls Jazz Club – http://www.smallsjazzclub.com/
Harlem OneStop Jazz Events – http://www.harlemonestop.com/feature.php?id=7

parks and Outdoor Spaces
Central Park – http://www.centralparknyc.org/site/PageServer
Bryant Park (Central Midtown Library) – http://www.bryantpark.org/
Riverside Park (Upper West Side) –  http://www.nycgovparks.org/parks/riversidepark
West Village/Chelsea Riverfront -- http://www.hudsonriverpark.org/
Chelsea Piers -- http://www.chelseapiers.com/


Bar Associations
American Bar Association – http://www.abanet.org/
New York State Bar Association – www.nysba.org
New York City Bar Association -- http://www.abcny.org/


Volunteer/Pro Bono Opportunities
Network of Pro Bono Opportunities -- http://www.probono.net/oppsguide/search?state=NY and http://www.probono.net/ny/nyc
City Bar Justice Centerhttp://www.nycbar.org/CityBarFund/index.htm


 Return to top

WESTCHESTER COUNTY

 

Westchester County Resources

Historic River Towns of Westchesterhttp://www.hudsonriver.com/halfmoonpress/calendar.htm

Westchester One – http://westchester-1.com/ (lists Spring and Summer events)

Scenic Hudson Events – www.ScenicHudson.org/events

New York’s Lower Hudson Valley (Journal News and inTown) – www.lohud.com

Tarrytown/Sleepy Hollow Events – www.sleepyhollowcahmber.com

Village of Croton-on-Hudson – www.crotonhudson-ny.gov

News 12 Westchester - http://www.news12.com/Home

 

Westchester Parks & Nature Centers

For a list of Westchester County Parks – www.westchestergov.com/Parks/Parks

Rockefeller State Park Preserve - http://www.nysparks.state.ny.us/parks/info.asp?parkID=60

Teatown Lake Reservation – www.teatown.org

Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture – www.stonebarnscenter.org

Muscoot Farm - http://www.westchestergov.com/parks/Muscoot/mainMF.htm

 

Westchester Museums & Landmarks

Katonah Museum of Art – www.KatonahMuseum.org

Neuberger Museum of Art - http://www.neuberger.org/

Bruce Museum - http://www.brucemuseum.org/

Hudson River Museum and Planetarium  - www.hrm.org

Lyndhurst Mansionwww.lyndhurst.org

Philipsburg Manor – www.hudsonvalley.org

Van Cortlandt Manor – www.hudsonvalley.org

Donald Kendell Sculpture Garden at Pepsico –  http://www.hudsonrivervalley.com/

 

Westchester Music and Theater

Tarrytown Music Hallwww.tarrytownmusichall.org

Hudson Stage Company – www.hudsonstage.com

Paramount Center for the Arts – www.paramountcenter.org

Westchester County Centerwww.westchestergov.com/calendar/ccorgcalquery.asp

Peekskill Celebration/Concert Series – www.peekskillcelebration.com

Pleasantville Music Festival – www.pleasantvillemusicfestival.com

 

Westchester Bar Associations

Westchester County Bar Association – https://www.wcbany.org/home.asp

White Plains Bar Association – http://wpbar.org/index.html

Westchester Women’s Bar Association – http://www.wwbany.org

 

Volunteer/Pro Bono Opportunities

Westchester County Community Service – http://www.westchestergov.com/volunteer/default.htm
ProBono Partnership – http://www.probonopartnership.org/opportunities.htm

 

 

Return to top

 

WASHINGTON, D.C.

 

D.C. Resources

Washington Post City Guide - http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/cityguide/

About.com DC Guide - http://dc.about.com/

Official Tourism Guide to DC - http://www.washington.org

 

D.C. Museums

National Air and Space Museum - Smithsonian Institution - http://www.nasm.si.edu/

National Gallery of Art - http://www.nga.gov/

Phillips Collection - http://www.phillipscollection.org/

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum - http://www.ushmm.org/

International Spy Museum - http://www.spymuseum.org

 

D.C. Music & Theater

The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts - http://www.kennedy-center.org/

The Shakespeare Theatre – www.shakespearedc.org

Arena Stage in Crystal City - http://www.arenastage.org/

Verizon Center - http://www.verizoncenter.com/

9:30 Club – www.930.com

Blues Alley - http://www.bluesalley.com/

 

D.C. Area Parks and Outdoor Spaces

Rock Creek Park/National Zoo - http://nationalzoo.si.edu

Chesapeake & Ohio Canal National Historic Park - http://dc.about.com/cs/restaurant1/a/Canalsites.htm

Best Hiking Guide to DC - http://dc.about.com/od/hiking/a/BestHiking.htm

National Monuments - http://dc.about.com/cs/sightseeing/a/Monuments.htm

 

D.C. Bar Associations

District of Columbia Bar - http://www.dcbar.org/

Bar Association of the District of Columbia - http://www.badc.org/

Washington Bar Association - http://www.washingtonbar.org/

National Bar Association – www.nationalbar.org

Women’s Bar Association of the District of Columbia - http://www.wbadc.org/

Hispanic Bar Association of DC - http://www.hbadc.org/

South Asian Bar Association of DC – http://www.sabadc.org/

Asian Pacific Bar Association of DC - http://www.apaba-dc.org

Korean American Bar Association – www.kaba-washington.org/

 

Volunteer/Pro Bono Opportunities

Project of the D.C. Consortium of Legal Service Providers and the D.C. Bar Pro Bono Program –  http://www.probono.net/dc/

Return to top  

Upcoming Events and Programs

Wednesday, April 9, 5:45-7:30pm, C-02
CCD-WALS Women in the Law Panel  

Thursday, April 10, 6-7:30pm, Tudor Room
CCD-SBA Wine Tasting Event

Monday, April 14
, 1-2pm, C-02
Success in your Summer Job

Monday, April 21
, 1-2pm, C-02
Ethics and the New Lawyer 

Monday, April 28, 1-2pm, C-02
Introduction to Fall Recruitment

Wednesday, April 30, 1-2pm, C-202
Navigating a Tight Job Market

Return to top

Pace Law School, Center for  Career Development,   (914) 422-4217   www.law.pace.edu